Third year law student at Robson Hall, world-ranked fencer
Friday, 05 December 2014 11:21

Chantel Helwer has a lot to be proud of. A third year law student at Robson Hall, Helwer has also become a world-ranked fencer. In 2004, while attending the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario, Helwer was asked to try out for the fencing team and hasn’t looked back since.

At the Canadian Armed Forces Sports Award Ceremony on October 24th, Helwer was the recipient of two awards. She was honoured with awards for both Canadian Navy Female Athlete for 2013 and Canadian Armed Forces Female Athlete of the Year.

Earlier this year, Helwer won silver medals at the Manitoba provincials as well as the Canadian University Championships and competed at multiple World Cup events throughout Europe and the United States. She also became the first Canadian Armed Forces female fencer to compete at the World Championships as well as the World University Games. She received a bronze medal at the North American Cup in Portland, Oregon in the team sabre event and placed 87th in individual sabre and 12th in the team sabre event for Canada at the World Cup event in Venezuela. Venezuela was the first of 6 World Cup events this year that she will be competing in. Keep an eye on her continuing journey in international fencing.

Helwer's long-term goal is to compete for Canada at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.



<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>